Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I adapted this recipe from a recipe my mother has been making for years, she originally clipped it from the Montreal Gazette over 30 years ago.

Growing up in Montreal coleslaw was a favorite side dish of the Jewish community, it’s a staple in every Jewish deli. I love the smell of this recipe and its fresh crisp taste. Feel free to double the recipe as it can stay in the fridge for two to three weeks without spoiling.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Coleslaw

Coleslaw (Vinaigrette style) only 37 calories for a 1/2 c serving.

Ingredients:
– 1 453gr /16oz. bag of tri-colour coleslaw from Fresh Express, a whole bag is 105 calories
– 1/2 c. white vinegar, 21 calories
– 1 tbsp canola oil, 120 calories
– 1/8 tsp plus a three drops of liquid Stevia (I use NOW non-bitter formula – 1/2 c. of Splenda works too), 0 calories for either sweetener
– 1/2 tsp salt, 0 calories
– 1/8 tsp white pepper, 1 calorie
– 1 tsp granulated garlic, 9 calories
– 1 tsp Italian seasoning, 0 calories

Directions:
Place contents of coleslaw bag in a bowl that’s large enough to mix in without spilling. In a small pot bring oil, vinegar and spices to a hard boil. Remove immediately from stove and pour over coleslaw. Mix well and cover bowl with a dishcloth. Mix hourly for a minimum of 4 hours always putting back dishcloth. After 4-5 hours place in a container and refrigerate.

Makes 7, 1/2 cup servings

The reason there’s a discrepancy in the the higher amount of Splenda as compared to the stevia is stevia’s after taste begins to overpower this classic favorite of mine. I have to admit that I prefer the taste of the coleslaw with Splenda, however I feel stevia is the better choice for myself.

May your journey be delicious and company you keep inspiring and supportive!

