Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love a good Greek salad. I prefer that they don’t have lettuce just chucks of other vegetables, lots of olives and the lovely flavor of feta. When I go to restaurants I always ask for the dressing on the side.

A few years back it dawned on me that if I let the salad marinate long enough, that the very ripe tomatoes, feta and seasonings without any oil or vinegar, would create their own dressing. Sure enough when I tried it I had hit. All the flavor and far fewer calories. In my mind fewer oil calories means more feta and olives, can you feel me on this one!!

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

No dressing Greek salad

Ingredients:
– 1 c. Western Family broccoli slaw, 25 calories
– 1 c. Mann’s rainbow salad, 25 calories
– 186 g very very ripe tomatoes – diced , 33 calories
– 1/2 c. diced mild onion, 32 calories
– 335 g cucumber with peel – diced, 53 calories
– 1 c. red bell pepper – diced, 29 calories
– 1/2 c. Western Family – sliced black olives, 160 calories
– 75 g Western Family lite (they’re spelling not mine lol) feta cheese, 175 calories
– Optionally add 1 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice, 4 calories
– Optionally add any spices you like such as salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, Greek seasoning, etc. Account for any of the calories as some spices do have them.
– Optionally if you are fortunate to get Walden Farms no calorie products, as we are here in Red Deer, you may choose to add 2 tbsp of the Italian no calorie dressing, any more and the calories begin.

Directions:
Combine all ingredients and mix well. Place in a container and let it sit over night. The juice from the diced tomato, feta and seasonings combine to make it’s own dressing. This recipe gets better the longer it marinates, giving it a toss occasionally does help. I just shake the container while the lid is on!

Makes 8, 1/2 c. servings of 67 calories each.

While you don’t need to add lemon juice or vinegar to this recipe, I love the acidity the tablespoon of fresh squeezed lemon juice adds. You may prefer to add a bit of vinegar. If you like the flavor of vinegar why not consider adding a delicious flavored vinegar, such as a maple vinegar – I may have to try that.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

