Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was so busy yesterday, aside from my normal daily busyness, it was one of the days I volunteer part time at the Red Deer Hospice. I cannot begin to tell you how much I love the staff, residents and the other volunteers that make the hospice one of the most loving and soulful places I have ever experienced. Once I got home I got so focused on writing yesterday’s blog post that by 8pm I’d only had 319 calories. Needless to say, by that time, I was hungry and was able to eat a dessert with a higher calorie count than I normally would.

While I prepared some dinner, turkey stuffed yam skins – which I will post tomorrow, I concocted dessert in my head. I wanted fruit and cream and chocolate…oh my, oy vay! It was so delicious and since my supper was also low in calories, I ate both the ramekins I made. I still only ate just over 1200 calories yesterday, however, I was truly satisfied and content. I really don’t believe in deprivation.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Creamy Berries with Oreo Crumble
This delicious dessert is only 270 calories a serving

Creamy-Berries-with-Oreo-Crumble

Ingredients
Base:
– 2 tbsp ground almonds, 68 calories
– 2 tbsp Oreo cookie crumbs, 53 calories
– 1 tsp Becel margarine, 35 calories

Filling:
– 1/4 c. Blueberries, 21 calories
– 82 g sliced strawberries, 25 calories
– 4 wedges Laughing Cow light spread, 90 calories
– 1/4 c. So Delicious unsweetened coconut milk, 11 calories
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 3 calories
– 20 drops Now brand stevia, non-bitter formula (green bottle, not blue which is in a glycerin base that’s too thick) – 3 packets of Splenda works as well, 0 calories

Crumble Topping:
– 3 tbsp ground almonds, 102 calories
– 3 tbsp Oreo cookie crumbs, 80 calories
– 1 tsp Becel margarine, 35 calories
– 1 tsp brown sugar, 17 calories

Directions:
Starting with the base, place ground almonds, Oreo cookie crumbs and margarine in a small microwavable dish and heat on high until margarine is melted. Mix ingredients until well combined, enough so that if you squeeze some between your fingers it will stick together. Split mixture in half and press into 2 ramekins. Bake on 350 for 15 minutes to set.

While the base is baking place coconut milk, Laughing Cow wedges, stevia and cinnamon in a blender or Bullet and mix until all ingredients form a smooth mixture. Place contents in a small pot and stir in berries. Heat on a low to medium temperature until everything is warmed. Stir frequently so the bottom of the pot doesn’t burn or stick. Split the contents of the pot into the two ramekins once the base has been set.

Place ground almonds, Oreo cookie crumbs, margarine and brown sugar in a small bowl and mix together until crumble has formed, once crumbly stop mixing or you’ll get a paste. If you find the mixture too dry to crumble too add a tiny drop or two of pure vanilla extract, just a drop or, again, it’ll become a paste. Split the crumble between the two ramekins, placing crumble on top of berry mixture. Place ramekins on a baking sheet and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes, until the filling begins to bubble.

Let cool for 10 – 15 minutes and enjoy.

Makes 2 servings

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

