Tags

, , , , , , ,

A few years back I was on one of my rigid, deprivation diets that I used to be famous for. The kind that I can keep for a month, maybe 6 weeks, until the deprivation causes me to get totally out of control and binge for days, to the point of no coming back. At that time I was craving a twice baked potato, however, for some reason that I don’t remember now, I wasn’t allowing myself potatoes only yams. Necessity being the mother of invention I came up with turkey stuffed yam skins.

I want to clarify, that by yam, I mean a sweet potato with orange flesh and a thicker, dark orangish skin as compared to the yellow fleshed, thin skinned variety. That’s how the grocery stores here in Canada distinguish between the two, in fact both are different varieties of sweet potatoes. A true yam is a light fleshed tuber that flowers and has little flavor.

I never ate yams much until I discovered I had type 2 diabetes. When I first found out I cut out most carbs except bananas and yams, because bananas have much needed potassium and I read that yams were excellent on the glycemic scale. This wasn’t the period that I first made the stuffed yam skins. In time I learned moderation with all carbs, still yams remain a favorite of mine. Their sweet goodness is a wonderful addition to both savory and sweet dishes alike.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Turkey-Stuffed-Yam-Skins

Ingredients:
– 4oz or 113 g extra lean ground turkey breast – raw, 125 calories
– 104 g yam (baked in the microwave before weighing), 121 calories
– 3 tbsp Old El Paso mild taco sauce, 15 calories
– 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 0 calories
– 2 tbsp Kraft light grated parmesan, 45 calories
– 1 tsp garlic powder or granulated garlic, 9 calories
– 1/8 tsp white pepper, 1 calorie
– salt to taste, 0 calories – optional

Directions:
In a non-stick pan, use your hands or a plastic/wooden spoon (i love to get my hands in there), to combine ground turkey breast, taco sauce and cumin until well blended. Place pan on stove top and cook on a medium heat, breaking up the turkey as it cooks.

Scoop out the flesh of the microwaved yam into a bowl, making sure not break the skin. It’s ok to leave some of the yam in it’s skin. Add the fully cooked turkey breast, parmesan, garlic powder, white pepper and salt, if you desire.

Spoon the mixture into the two yam skin halves, place on a cookie sheet and broil on 500ºF, until the top is browned.

Makes 1 serving, 316 calories.

When I make this for myself I add more cumin, garlic powder and white pepper than I mentioned. It’s always important to flavor to your palate. Never be afraid to ad in extra spices and seasonings that you know you enjoy. You may even want to use more taco sauce, just remember, if you’re a calorie counter, to account for the variation in calories.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

