Tags

, , , , , , ,

I sometimes need a little convenience. My lifestyle doesn’t always lend to cooking full meals daily and as a single woman, sometimes I don’t feel like cooking. This means I try to find the best convenience foods I can when I’m grocery shopping, by best I mean lower calorie options and, if possible, few ingredients I can barely pronounce. I found one such product a few months ago. I was shopping at Save-On Foods, a chain located in Alberta and British Columbia, and in one of the frozen foods sections I came across Marc Angelo products. All of this company’s products are reasonably priced and quite a few are low in calories. So far I have tried the chicken Italian sausages and the Santa Fe BBQ pork loin centre steaks.

I love pork loin centre, it’s lean and delicious and aside from pork tenderloin it’s my favorite cut of pork. Marc Angelo pork loin centre steaks are only 130 calories per 100 g steak. The frozen portions are raw when defrosted and must be cooked rather than reheated.  Depending on what I’ve eaten for the day, in other words my calorie intake, I sometimes have two portions. OK I’m fibbing right now; the truth is I save calories during the day, so I can have two of these steaks, when I know I’m going to make this for supper.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Marc-Angelo-Meal-Idea

The meal idea in the photo is 453 calories and consists of:
– 2 Marc Angelo Santa Fe BBQ pork loin centre steaks, 260 calories
– 1 – 90 g russet potato (baked in the microwave before weighing), 66 calories
– 30 g (2 tbsp) Skotidakis tzatziki, 50 calories
– 81 g (2.9 oz) radish – raw, 13 calories
– 90 g (3.2 oz) raw cucumber, 14 calories
– 2 tbsp Reneés Mediterranean Greek salad dressing, 50 calories

There are so many ways I could have cut the calories in the above meal if I wanted to, the most obvious way would be to have one pork loin centre trimming 130 calories. I could have trimmed 50 calories by using half of the tzatziki and salad dressing, which is so easy if I put both on the side and dip rather than placing the condiments directly on my food.

If I were to live my ideal of healthy eating I would always cook from scratch and eat nothing but whole foods. My present challenge with eating whole foods is that in order to get all the flavors I love I would have to eat more calories than I am presently capable of physically working off…in other words I’d gain weight. With my 25-pound loss I have much more energy than I used to and am able to physically do so much more than I could do a short six weeks ago. I know as I lose more weight it will allow my back and knees to better handle carrying my own weight so I can get more exercise. With that said, I can only live in the present and not the future.

I hope you like my convenience food meal ideas, let me know if you try any Marc Angelo products. Find a grocery store in your province that sells Marc Angelo products.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

