Tags

, , , , ,

There’s a restaurant chain in Alberta and British Columbia by the name of White Spot. I discovered it when I used to live in Vancouver, B.C.. Though they exist in Alberta, sadly there are none here in Red Deer. I had a few favorite items on the White Spot menu that I would eat time and time again when I went to one. My absolute favorite being their “Shrimp On Toast”, it was a sandwich that just did it for me.

One day I set out to try and copy the sandwich at home. While it doesn’t taste exactly like White Spot’s it’s still a fave recipe that I keep making for myself. I’ve adapted it from my original recipe to lower the calories and happily it hasn’t altered the flavor one bit. The secret of this recipe is giving it time for the flavors to merge with the shrimp.

A half cup serving is more than enough for a sandwich or wrap. I use Silver Hill’s Little Big Bread, it’s a calorie reduced bread that is non GMO. When I make a sandwich the shrimp salad flows over. I sometimes skip the sandwich and have a double serving with raw vegetable on the side, it’s all about my mood and how much time I have to eat.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Shrimp-Salad

Ingredients:
– 400 g/14.3 oz Bay Point Trading cooked shrimp, diced (I buy the pre-cooked frozen shrimp), 280 calories
– 1/2 c. diced mild/sweet onion, 32 calories
– 1-1/2 tbsp Hellmann’s Light Olive Oil Mayonnaise, 75 calories
– 2 tbsp Western Family, fat free Balkin Style yoghurt, 13 calories
– 3 tbsp Heinz Homestyle Chili Sauce, 30 calories
– 1/4 tsp Tabasco Sauce – optional, 0 calories
– 1 tsp onion powder, 8 calories
– 1/4 tsp sea salt, 0 calories

Directions:
In a bowl combine diced shrimp, diced onion, mayonnaise, yoghurt, chili sauce and Tabasco sauce, mix until the thoroughly blended. Add onion powder and seal salt and mix thoroughly. Cover bowl or place in a container with a lid and refrigerate 1-2 hours allowing the shrimp to absorb the flavor.

Makes 8, 1/2 c. servings – 55 calories per serving of shrimp salad only.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

