Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I love salads and I hate salads, well certain salads that is. I am not a traditional salad person, by that I mean lettuce, tomato, cucumber, onion, etc. I think it reminds of my younger years when that was the basics of an old fashioned deprivation diet, chicken and fish and salad. The thought makes me shudder, I did that for too many years.

Today it’s rare to find lettuce in my home, unless I’m planning on making lettuce wraps.  The base of my salads are always Mann’s Broccoli Coleslaw or Mann’s Rainbow Salad, both are only 25 calories a cup. From there I throw in anything I feel like, usually odds and ends I have left in the fridge that I want to use up and sometimes something I’m craving. I always add protein because throw-together salads are always a meal for me and never a side. For salad sides I always keep my homemade Greek salad and my homemade Fresh & Crispy Coleslaw in the fridge.

I believe that anything is fair game in a throw-together salad, vegetables, fruit, proteins (including cheese), carbs, nuts and seeds. When I have a salad as a meal it’s never boring to me, it’s a marriage of flavors and textures that I love, not to mention the ease, speed and convenience. Sometimes I make double the amount and put the other half in a tortilla wrap the next day for lunch, however not when I’ve thrown in rice or quinoa, as the calories including the tortilla wrap would far exceed my daily limit.

I’ve been so busy lately that I’ve had a lot of these for suppers and haven’t gotten bored because they’re never the same. Here’s a throw-together salad that I made the other day. The base was my Greek Salad, instead of Broccoli Coleslaw or Rainbow Salad because I needed to use it up and make a fresh batch.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Throw-Together-Salad

Ingredients:
– 1/2 c. Greek Salad, 67 calories.
– 1/2 c./125 ml. Uncle Ben’s Bistro Express, Long Grain & Wild – Roasted Garlic flavor, 140 calories.
– 1 turkey farmer sausage round, diced, 80 calories per round. I’m unsure of the brand, I get it at Costco and separate and freeze the rounds so I don’t have the packaging. I will update this the next time I buy some.
– 2 Veggie Patch Falafel Chickpea Balls, diced, 75 calories.
– 1/2 c. Diamond brand baby corn, 25 calories.
– 38 g./1.4 oz fresh avocado, 61 calories.
– 2 tbsp. Western Family canned sliced black olives, 40 calories.

Directions:
In a medium bowl, microwave the rice, diced farmer sausage and diced falafel for 45 seconds. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix to blend flavors. Make sure to include the marinade from the Greek salad and you won’t need to add and dressing.

Makes 1 serving, 488 calories.

I prefer making 3-4 cups, cooked, of my homemade brown rice and/or quinoa in the fridge for the week, with that said, I always keep a package or two of the Bistro Express around in case I haven’t had time and need to throw something together quickly. Sometimes we all need a fast, convenient and tasty meal. Use your imagination, keep to your calorie or point count and make losing weight fun.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

