Tags

, , , , , , ,

I used to think that quinoa was a grain, until I checked because I was cooking for someone doing an elimination diet and not eating grains. I was pleasantly surprised to discover buckwheat and chia are seeds as well.

Quinoa is a particular favorite of mine because it’s so diverse. It can be prepared as savory or sweet and eaten hot or cold. It leaves room for a whole lot of imagination and that’s what I enjoy about cooking, the creativity.

I always prepare quinoa in a rice cooker. I keep a quantity of it or rice in the fridge for a week. Generally I make it plain and infuse whatever flavor at a later time for variety. I have a new fave kitchen appliance I love that was gifted to me…thanks mom. It’s an Emeril 8 in 1 Multi Cooker by T-fal. It’s a steamer, crockpot, rice cooker and more. It allowed me to give away my old rice cooker and and have two crockpots because we all need an extra crockpot!

Emeril-Cooker

I never made quinoa exactly the same twice, that’s because I never measured my ingredients other than the quinoa and liquid. Now, after starting this blog, I write down everything and I’m glad I did because this is a simple recipe that packs a lot of flavor and I want to make this again.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Quinoa

 Ingredients:
– 1 c. trü Roots organic Quinoa, 680 calories
– 2 c. Campbell’s No Salt Added Chicken Broth, 31 calories
– 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce, 13 calories
– 1 tbsp. onion powder, 25 calories
– 1 tbsp, granulated garlic or garlic powder, 28 calories
– salt to taste. I originally added in 1 tsp. of sea salt and found the recipe just a drop to salty for my taste and I love salt! Being that salt can always be added I recommend that the first batch you make omit the salt in the cooking process.

Directions:
Place all ingredients in rice cooker, stir well and walk away OR Place all ingredients in a pot, stir well and follow the stove top directions on your bag or box of quinoa.

Makes 8, 1/2 c. servings – each serving is 97 calories.
Calories do not include the green onion and red bell pepper garnish shown in the photo.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

