Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am not a breakfast person; it’s not uncommon for me to have a banana for breakfast. Part of the reason is that I wake up and start working on projects, like writing a blog post and before I know it I am rushing out the door to get to an appointment and I grab something to go…a banana. This is one of the reasons I can have a 500 calorie dinner and then a dessert and stay within my calorie budget. I’m the first to admit that this is not healthy…don’t do this.

When I have the presence of mind, and only a little time, to make breakfast I pop a couple of frozen waffles in the toaster. I am totally addicted to Nature’s Path Organic Buckwheat Wildberry Waffles and they are gluten-free to boot. For a mere 190 calories for two waffles you can add some fruit and syrup and have a great nutritious breakfast for 300 calories or under. Sometimes I have one in the evening with a 1/2 cup of No Sugar Added ice cream as a dessert.

Nature's-Path-Organic-Buckwheat-Wildberry-Waffles

Here are the ingredients and calories for the above photo.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories stated apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 2 Nature’s Path Organic Buckwheat Wildberry Waffles, 190 calories
– 1/4 c. fresh blueberries, 21 calories
– 105 g/3 + 3/4 oz. fresh strawberries, 31 calories
– 1 tsp Manitoba Harvest brand hemp hearts, 19 calories
– 1/4 c Walden Farms NO CALORIE Pancake Syrup, 0 calories

Makes 1 serving, 261 calories per serving.

I was fortunate to discover Walden Farms products at a local store here in Red Deer called Sugar Free and More. I have never found them in Toronto, Vancouver or Montreal. Please note that Walden Farm products are only calorie free for the recommended serving that’s written on each individual product’s nutritional label. There are unknown calories when you go over the serving size.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

