Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t know how many hours a week I used to spend in front of the TV mindlessly eating. I wasn’t really tasting what I was eating and therefore I wasn’t satisfied and would always want more. It’s so easy to overeat when you’re not tasting your food.

Many overweight people will tell you that they love food, I used to say that too and now I totally disagree. If you love food you appreciate the visual appeal of what you are about to eat, you thoroughly delight in its aroma and you savor each and every bite, that’s respect, that’s love. If you’re not respecting your food you’re not loving it. Mindless eating is definitely not about loving food, it’s about loving what you’re getting from the food – distraction. Distraction is about relieving boredom, avoiding feeling emotions and/or avoiding thinking and dealing, in other words procrastinating, with daily life, situations and/or people. For some people mindless eating has just become a habit after years of doing the aforementioned. I was, and still can be, one of these people.

How can you tell if it’s a habit?
– You’re not bored.
– You’re not feeling any negative emotions or thinking negatively.
– You’re not feeling extremely positive emotions (celebration).
– Your chores or tasks are up to date, you’re not avoiding doing anything.
– You’re not worried.
– You’re relationships are all fine at the present moment, in other words, there’s nothing eating you about the people in your life.
– You’re not fatigued (feeling you need a pick-me-up).
– YOU’RE NOT HUNGRY, there is no sensation of hunger in your body.
If you’re all of the above, meaning your content and nothing is weighing heavily upon you, you may just have a habit. Consider making it a rule to not eat or snack in front of the TV.

I still eat my supper in front of the TV and frankly I am fatigued. I’m so busy these days that I generally don’t get to eat supper until 8-9pm. I don’t need a pick me up, I need a meal to get my calories in, even though I tend not be hungry after a busy day. If I am hungry I sometimes find myself muting the TV closing my eyes and savoring what I’m eating. When I do that my portions are more than enough to satisfy me.

Someone once told me that the best tasting meal she ever had was a simple egg salad sandwich with raw veggies on the side. It was the best because she had no distractions, it was the  table, the food and her. She thoroughly tasted everything she ate. Have you ever done this? If you haven’t please try it, you may be surprised by the taste sensation you’ve been missing.

In this world of fast paced everything, including you’re landline, mobile and tablet all going off at the same time, it’s worth it to take the time to be present with your food; being present is a gift you give yourself. It’s a must for weight loss; it’s about having a healthy relationship with yourself and food.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

