Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love chicken, probably because there are so many different ways to make it that there’s no need to ever get bored. Safeway has a line called Eating Right, it’s a large extensive line. I do like quite a few products in it, especially they’re frozen chicken breasts. At my local Safeway the chicken breasts come in honey garlic, cajun and my favorite, Mediterranean.

Eating-Right-Mediterrannean-Chicken

These chicken breasts are moist, tender, delicious and very calorie conscious. Each 125 gram Mediterranean breast is 100 calories. It bakes in 35 minutes from frozen. I tend to bake 2 to 4 breasts at a time and then I have protein for when I’m on the go. It easily makes a 300-400 calorie meal as pictured above or it can be used for sandwiches, wraps, chicken salad and any other place you use cooked chicken breasts. I should mention that each flavor has a different calorie content, if memory serves me correctly, the calorie range for the different flavors range from 100 – 120 calories per 125 gram chicken breast.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Chicken-Souvlaki

Ingredients:
– 1 Western Family Whole Grain Whole Wheat tortilla – ~6 inch, 90 calories
– 1 Eating Right Mediterranean chicken breast – cooked and diced, 100 calories
– 1/4 c Vidalia onion or another sweet onion like Walla Walla – diced, 16 calories
– 35 g / 1 & 1/4 oz red bell pepper – diced, 11 calories
– 3 tbsp Skotidakis tzatziki, 75 calories

Yield: 1 serving, 292 calories

I love chicken souvlaki in a pita or a wrap and Eating Right Mediterranean breasts are seasoned just perfectly for souvlaki. Each bite is a taste sensation. Sometimes I use less onion, red bell pepper and tzatziki and add some light feta cheese. Sometimes I caramelize the onions and or red bell pepper. It’s a matter of mood and where I’m at in my calories for the day. This versatile low calorie food product is on my top 10 in convenience foods.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

