Tags

, , , , , , ,

A few days ago I was feeling off. The first thing I did was check my blood pressure and it was low. It took me a day to realize that I had been forgetting two important things in my diet – water and potassium. Water, believe it or not, is the most challenging for me, it’s not that I don’t like it, it’s that I get busy and forget to drink period. However since then my breakfast has included a banana and my lunch has been built around a baked potato.

It just wasn’t possible for me to have meals based on a potato without one being a twice baked potato. I admit full heartedly that this is delicious and not healthy, in that it’s made up of processed foods, other than the potato. Can I make a healthy version of this…you bet and maybe I will at some point. Until then I believe it’s okay to have some fun now and then as long as my calories are in line…so here we go.

The first time I made this I got so involved with the computer while it was under the broiler getting brown that I had baked once and burned once potato! It smelled great though!

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Twice-Baked-Potato

Ingredients:
– 140 g / 5 oz. (baked weight) russet potato, calories 103.
– 2 tbsp Tostitos Salsa Con Queso, 45 calories (this is the jarred cheese sauce they put on nacho chips).
– 2 tbsp Olympic Premium sour cream, 50 calories (I love this sour cream because it’s as thick as Greek yogurt).
– 2 tbsp Maple Leaf, Natural Selections bacon pieces, 70 calories.
Windsor Roasted Garlic with Sea Salt grinder to taste. (optional), 0 calories

Directions:
I baked my potato in the microwave for convenience. While it is baking, in a small bowl, mix the sour cream and salsa con queso together well. Stir in bacon pieces.

When the potato has cooled weigh it to get your calorie count, or not if you used the raw potato in your calculations. Slice the potato potato in half length wise, scoop out the meat and mash it in with the sour cream mixture ( i just mashed with the a spoon). It’s perfectly ok to leave some potato in the skin.

When the skins are filled sprinkle with garlic salt or salt if desired and place under broiler until they’re browned a little.

Yield one serving, 268 calories.

This is a great lunch meal, you can add more and/or different proteins like ham or chicken. Half a potato would make a great calorie conscious side dish, be sure to only broil one half and put the other in the fridge. The next day you can microwave and then broil or bake covered in tinfoil to heat and then remove foil and broil.

There are endless variations you make. You can lower calories by using fat free sour cream and/or if you fry 2 slices of Lilydale Day Starters yourself and crumble instead of using the bacon pieces that saves 20 calories. The salsa con queso can be replaced with 2 tbsp Kraft light parmesan if you prefer the flavor, the calories are virtually the same. Maybe you’d like to use your favorite salsa with sour cream. It can go as far as you imagine, just remember to account for the calories if you’re counting.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

