Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s not often that I make eggs for breakfast, when I do I love making my version of a breakfast hash. I’ve been making this with different ingredients for years.

I generally use frozen hash browns. I have found a Western Family brand that’s 60 calories per cup and a Safeway brand that’s 70 calories per cup. I always choose the lower calorie brand when I find it because that means I have extra available calories for flavor enhancing ingredients!

This was the first time I used a baked russet potato as I had prepared four microwaved potatoes to leave in the fridge for when the mood hit. I’m really glad I did because the flavor was the best yet. When I diced the potato the skin peeled off, since I had counted those calories and the skin holds the nutrition, or so I am told, and I love the skin of the potato, I munched as I cooked.

Another change I made was using Grana Padano cheese from Italy. A beautifully flavored cheese that is a relative of parmigiano reggiano and that I prefer between the two of them. Feel free to substitute one for the other in this recipe and if you choose to substitute for Kraft light parmesan it will still work!

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Breakfast-Hash

Ingredients:
– 102 g/3.65 oz. (baked weight) Russet potato – diced, 75 calories
– 1 large GoldEgg free run egg, 70 calories
– 1/8 c or 2 tbsp Naturegg Simply egg whites, 15 calories
– 2 strips Lilydale Day Starters – chopped, 70 calories
– 16 g/0.6 oz. Grana Padano Cheese – finely grated, 61 calories
– Garlic pepper to taste, 0 calories

Directions:
In a bowl combine egg and egg whites thoroughly.

Cutting-Board

Add Day Starters, cheese and garlic pepper and mix well. When you finely grate cheese you get a much larger volume that easily combines throughout whatever you’re cooking or baking.

Grana-Podano-CheeseEgg-Mixture

Spray a small pan with PAM or another cooking spray, I used butter flavored PAM. and brown the potatoes. Once browned add egg mixture and prepare as you would a scrambled egg.

Yield: one serving, 271 calories – not including the green onion and tomato garnish in the photo of the completed dish.

I didn’t add salt to the recipe because, for myself, the Day Starters and the cheese added enough. Day Starters are bacon style turkey strips. They are larger than turkey bacon because they have less fat. Butterball is 35 calories per strip and Day Starters are 25 calories a strip.

This is a flavorful way to start your day…or end it, I’m not fussy!

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

