Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love the process of tasting a food and letting instinct take over. For me cooking has to be felt and only slightly thought about, it comes from a heart place. Baking is really new to me so when I bake I am very much in my head. This is why baking takes me so many more attempts than cooking ever does, especially learning gluten-free baking, which is my preference not a need for myself.

Recently when I went grocery shopping they had Soyganic smoked tofu on sale. I had never tried smoked tofu so I thought it was about time. I can’t say that I’m a tofu lover though I do buy extra firm tofu occasionally. I am considering trying soft tofu for a dessert.

I opened the package of smoked tofu and cut off a bit to taste. It was very smokey, nothing subtle to it at all. My immediate reaction to the flavor was barbecue sauce, it tasted like it needed to be paired with something sweet and acidic. As I looked in fridge and pantry the apples, carrots, onions and a tin of crushed pineapple immediately caught my eye and I knew a salad with caramelized onions and some sort of pineapple dressing was the way to go.

Deciding what went into the salad was easy, making my own salad dressing…not so much, it was my first attempt at a salad dressing. I started out with far too much vinegar and choked! That went down the sink. The second attempt was much better, I tasted as I went along until I had something that had just the right balance to suit what I was after. I hope you enjoy it.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Smoked-Tofu-Salad

Ingredients:

Dressing:
– 2 tbsp white vinegar, 5 calories
– 1/4 tsp sesame oil, 10 calories
– 1/4 c Dole crushed pineapple (no sugar added), 40 calories
– 2 tbsp Astro fat free plain yoghurt, 15 calories
– 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce, 9 calories
– 1/2 tsp soy sauce, 2 calories
– 1 tsp brown sugar, 17 calories

Salad:
– 2 3/4 c grated carrots, 124 calories
– 270 g/ 9.5 oz sliced apples, I used one granny smith and one fuji apple for variety, 140 calories
– 2 c Mann’s Broccoli slaw, 50 calories
– 1, 210 g/ 7.5 oz diced Soyganic smoked tofu, 346 calories
– 195 g/ 7 oz. sliced Walla Walla onion, 71 calories
– 1 tsp Country Harvest canola oil, 40 calories

Directions:
In a blender or Bullet combine vinegar, sesame oil, pineapple, yoghurt, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce and brown sugar until thoroughly blended.

In a large bowl place carrot, apples and broccoli slaw. Cover with dressing and toss until combined.

In a medium pan heat canola oil on medium-high, once heated lower to medium and add onions. Once the onions are caramelized add the smoked tofu to heat. When ready place tofu and onions over salad and give it a light toss or present with the onions and tofu sitting on top.

Yield: 3 servings, 290 calories each not including the mint garnish in the photo.

I removed the mint garnish before eating the salad and found the mint flavor to still be there, yes mint is new to me as well, I enjoyed having the drop of mint. Next time I am going to add just one small leaf of fresh mint to the dressing.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

