Tags

, , , , , , ,

Tomorrow night it’s Dinner and a Movie at the Centre for Spiritual Living Red Deer and I’m the host. This means that I’m also the cook. The great part of it is I get to choose the movie too and this month I’m showing, what I consider, a classic spiritual film Field of Dreams with Kevin Costner.

So that I’m not overly busy tomorrow I did my dessert baking and my side dish which is roasted vegetables. This is one of my favorite side dishes and in the winter you can almost always find a huge container of it in my fridge. It’s one of those great sides that you can make and keep for a week. In the winter I always get what’s on sale so that I have variety from week to week. I rarely season the batches the same…it’s about mood. Most of the time I don’t put in potatoes, however, since I’m feeding a group it seemed like a good idea.

I like my roasted vegetables chunky, in my mind, dainty vegetables are for salads. This was the first time I used dried tarragon leaves and I wasn’t disappointed. The other flavor that I love on my vegetables is lemon pepper, it gives them such a nice tang. The great part of this recipe is in the summer they can be roasted on the barbecue in an aluminum foil packet. I, however, chose to use the oven on one of the hottest days of the summer. Thank goodness for air conditioning!

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Roasted-Vegetables

Ingredients:
– 985 g/35 oz red skinned potatoes chopped chunky, 753 calories
– 499 g/17.8 oz baby carrots chopped in half, 205 calories
– 328 g/11.7 oz Walla Walla onions chopped chunky, 119 calories
– 2 3/4 c green bell pepper chopped chunky, 82 calories
– 195 g/7 oz red bell pepper chopped chunky, 60 calories
– 1 tbsp Colavita cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, 120 calories
– 1 tbsp dried tarragon leaves, 5 calories
– 1 tbsp onion powder, 25 calories
– 1 tbsp granulated garlic, 28 calories
– 2 tbsp lemon pepper, 0 calories only because there is no information for anything over 1/4 tsp.
– 1/2 tbsp paprika, 9 calories
– 1 1/2 tsp sea salt, 0 calories

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375ºF / 190ºC.

Place all chopped vegetables in an extra large bowl.

Oil-&-Seasonings

Add olive oil and all seasonings.

Seasoned-Vegetables

Toss the vegetables with your hands to coat as evenly as possible. Place on a tinfoil covered cookie sheet.

Oven-ready

Bake for 35-45 minutes until potatoes are tender.

Yield: 11 one cup servings, each serving is 128 calories.

I was really blessed this week because one of the Centre’s members grows his own organic vegetables and in the summer brings buckets of fresh produce each Sunday. Last Sunday I took the potatoes that are in this recipe, romaine lettuce for tomorrow night’s salad, and beets! I still don’t know what I’m going to do with the beets yet.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

