Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I love desserts and snacks. When it comes to baking I prefer gluten-free even though I eat bread that contains gluten. I find baking can sit very heavy in my stomach when I use white flour and I really don’t like the feeling.

A few years ago I found a blog called the Gluten-Free Goddess and I have tried quite a few of her baking recipes. Some I love some and some, especially lowering the calories, don’t work for me at all. I still love experimenting with them and trying.

This recipe is based on the Gluten-free Goddess’ Sour Cream Blueberry Muffins. I love how moist and soft these came out for gluten-free. They were absolutely delicious. I brought them to dinner on Friday night and they were a hit.

The first batch I made I used a mix of sour cream and yoghurt and they came to 169 calories per muffin. I ran out of sour cream for the second batch and I used yoghurt only. Then I realized that I had also forgot to put the 2 tbsp of a coconut shortening I used and they were still great. This lowered the calories quite a bit.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

GF-Blueberry-Yoghurt-Muffins-Tops

Ingredients:
– 1 large Goldn free run egg, 70 calories
– 2 tbsp Naturegg Simply Egg Whites, 15 calories
– 6 tbsp Mott’s Fruitsations unsweetened Raspberry Cherry Starfruit applesauce (taken from serving size containers), 43 calories
– 1/2 c Splenda granulated, 48 calories
– 1 tsp Stevia liquid, 0 calories
– 1 cup Western Family Balkin style yoghurt, 107 calories
– 2 tsp bourban vanilla extract, 25 calories
– 2 pitted Medjool dates, 140 calories
– 1 2/3 c fresh blueberries, 141 calories
– 1 c/~168 g Bob’s Red Mill GF Pancake Mix, 560 calories
– 1/2 c Cloud 9 All Purpose GF flour, 270 calories
– 1/2 c/~71 g Nutters GF Sorghum flour, 241 calories
– 1/2 tsp El Peto GF baking powder, 2 calories
– 1/8 tsp El Peto GF baking soda, 0 calories
– 1/8 tsp El Peto GF Xanthan Gum, 1 calories
– 1/4 c So Delicious unsweetened coconut milk, 11 calories

GF-Blueberry-Yoghurt-Muffins

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375ºF / 190ºC. Line a 12-muffin pan with liners and spray with Pam or another cooking spray so the muffins don’t stick to the liners.

In a mixing bowl combine the three flours, baking powder, baking soda and xanthan gum

In a blender puree the egg, egg whites, applesauce, Splenda, stevia, yoghurt, vanilla and dates. Add to flour mixture and mix well.

Mix in the coconut milk. Once the batter is fully prepared mix in the blueberries gently.

Spoon the batter into the cups and bake for 20 minutes. If you are using frozen blueberries bake for 25 minutes. I always do a toothpick test.

Place pan on wire rack, once they have cooled down enough to handle remove the muffins onto the wire rack to cool down the rest of the way.

Yield: 12 muffins, 140 calories each

Simply scrumptious doesn’t come close to describing these moist morsels. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

