Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve seen so many recipes for frozen yoghurt pops lately, and being a huge ice cream fan, I decided to jump on the bandwagon. First step was to run to the grocery store and get popsicle molds. Please don’t laugh when you see them, they have built in sippy straws! Okay so sophisticated they’re not, and I have a little kid in me that loves the bright colours!

I looked at all the recipes out there and the flavours because I wanted to try something different. Then it hit me…when I was growing up there were always two flavors of ice cream in the house Heavenly Hash and Maple Walnut. Maple Walnut was my father’s favorite, so this one’s for you dad!

Maple-Walnut-Yoghurt-Pops

They get their green hue from avocado. I wanted to keep them as creamy as I could. This was my first attempt at a yoghurt pop. The only thing I would change in the recipe is the amount of walnuts. I would use half the amount and crush or chop them further so they pieces spread out more. The texture was creamy and the flavour maple sugar sweet. I love a decadent treat.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Maple-Walnut-Yoghurt-Pop

Ingredients:
– 2/3 c Western Family Balkin Style yoghurt, 71 calories
– 68 g/~2 1/2 oz avocado, 109 calories
– 2 tbsp So Delicious unsweetened coconut milk, 6 calories
– 1/4 c Joseph’s Original Sugar Free Maple Syrup, 35 calories
– 1/2 tsp Clubhouse imitation maple extract, 0 calories
– 1/2 tsp NOW Organic Better Stevia liquid, 0 calories
– 1/4 c  Walnut pieces, 191 calories *

Instructions:
Place all ingredients in a Bullet or blender and combine until thoroughly combined. Place mixture in a mixing bowl and stir in walnut pieces. Pour or spoon in popsicle molds.

Yield: 4 pops, 103 calories each.
* NOTE: By halving the amount of walnuts to 1/8 c and crushing or chopping them further the energy for a yield of 4 pops becomes 79 calories each, a significant difference.

Joseph’s Original Sugar Free Maple Syrup is an American product, we’re lucky that here in Red Deer the store, Sugar Free and More, carry it. It can be ordered online in the U.S. and I am in the process of finding out if it can be ordered in Canada. I have made a phone call to the Canadian fulfillment centre I was given the phone number to and I will let you know when I hear back.

If you cannot get a low calorie, truly, maple flavoured syrup or you are not fond of products with maltitol, please add more imitation extract to taste and increase the amount of stevia to taste. You may also blend in a pitted date or two for sweetness. Please remember to alter the calories for any changes you make.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

