Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am part of some groups on Facebook that exchange recipes. I love it when I find a recipe for a low calorie makeover, this is one of those recipes. The original recipe Loaded Cauliflower Casserole from Jennifer Breaker Dixon in the group “Jump on The Skinny Bandwagon with Me“.

It took me three tries until I got the right amount of cheesiness. I’ve come to understand that low fat hard cheeses don’t work well because there’s not enough fat to blend well. What works very well is a combination of salsa con carne and nutritional yeast flakes. Alone each of these ingredients are only ok in this recipe, together they’re phenomenal.

There is one definite change I would make next time, I would use six ramekins rather than a 9” square baking pan. Each serving holds together when baked, however, it is too soft to look nice when served. I will offer the option for both a baking pan and ramekins in the directions

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Cheesy-Cauliflower-Serving

Ingredients:
– 5 c steamed cauliflower (not mushy, I steamed for 15 minutes), 143 calories
– 4 diced slices of Lilydale Day Starters turkey style bacon, 100 calories
– 1/2 c Western Family fat free Balkin Style yoghurt, 53 calories
– 1/4 c Kraft 95% fat free cream cheese, 80 calories
– 1/3 c Tostitos Salsa Con Queso, 120 calories
– 35 g (1/2 c) Nutter’s nutritional yeast, 55 calories
– 2 cloves pressed fresh garlic, 9 calories
– 1/2 tsp seal salt, 0 calories
– 2 tbsp Kraft light Parmesan, 45 calories

Directions:
In a non-stick frying pan crisp the Day Starters on a medium heat. I like them very crisp where the edges are starting to burn just a bit.

Preheat oven to 350ºF / 175ºC.

Place cauliflower in a food processor until the texture of meal. I find I have to do it in two batches or I get whole florets siting on top of the meal going nowhere.

Place cauliflower in a mixing bowl and mash together with yoghurt, cream cheese, salsa con queso, nutritional yeast, garlic and salt. Stir in Day Starters.

Place mixture in a 9×9 baking pan that’s been sprayed with Pam or another cooking spray and spread out so it’s even. I like to run the back of a spoon over the top to smooth it out.  Sprinkle the parmesan on evenly. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Let cool a bit to set.

OR

Divide mixture into six ramekins that have each been sprayed with Pam or another cooking spray and pat down the mixture in each. Sprinkle one teaspoon of parmesan onto each ramekin. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the top has browned slightly. Setting isn’t necessary. Please keep in mind that I haven’t make them in the ramekins and I am unsure of the cooking time.

Yield: 6 servings, each serving is 101 calories.

I was really pleased with this batch, the flavor and the calories. I hope you enjoy it too.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

