Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve spent three days testing out tuna salad without mayonnaise. I’ve finally found a recipe I like.

I absolutely love mayonnaise in tuna salad, I just don’t want all the calories that comes with it. I really dislike fat free mayonnaise because it’s sweet and that just doesn’t mesh with my tastebuds for many recipes and foods, for instance I can’t stand relish. I am strictly a kosher dill, full sour, pickle gal!

It’s taken many tries trying get some creaminess without the calories. Today I decided to try it with a couple of wedges of Laughing Cow Light…it worked. It’s not as creamy as mayonnaise and it’s a texture that I like. However, it was missing flavour. I went into the fridge and got the jar of mayonnaise and read the ingredients. Lemon juice, salt, vinegar, natural flavours (that doesn’t help at all) and other assorted ingredients.

I didn’t want to add lemon juice just a little lemon flavour, no problem there’s lemon pepper, except I am out of that. Ground coriander replaced the lemon pepper. It was a great substitute. A drop of vinegar and some salt and it worked for me. I hope it works for you too.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Tuna-Salad

Ingredients:
– 1 drained can of Co-op Flaked Light tuna in water, 109 calories
– 2 tbsp Western Family fat free Balkin Style yoghurt, 13 calories
– 2 wedges Laughing Cow light cheese spread, 45 calories
– 1/8 tsp white vinegar, 0 calories,
– 1/2 tsp ground coriander, 1 calorie
– Salt to taste, 0 calories

Directions: Mash everything together!

Yield: 2 servings, 84 calories per serving (crackers and eggplant salad shown in the photo are not included in the calorie count).

Make it a meal, as shown in the photo, one serving 340 calories:
– 2 servings Tuna Salad (as above), 168 calories
– 1/2 c Eggplant Salad, 64 calories
– 12 Want-Want SuperSlim Brown Rice Crisps – Black Sesame flavour, 108 calories

It’s not fancy, it’s just plain old tuna salad without all the extra calories.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

