Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am always checking out other bloggers who create sugar-free, gluten-free and/or low calorie recipes. I also love a lot of blogs that are full fat and sugar! I find a lot of recipes I want to give low calorie makeovers to. There is a blog that I love called Sugar-Free Mom. She has some great recipes and she gets my creative cooking and baking inspiration going. There was a post of hers that I really wanted to try, Individual Whole Wheat Puff Pancake with Personal Toppings and this my gluten-free adaption of that recipe.

I was fortunate enough to find a new gluten-free flour that I’m so crazy about. It’s made from a company called Namaste Foods. You know I love that name! Though they do have an all purpose flour I chose to get their flour called Biscuits, Piecrusts & More. I love the fact that this flour is lower in calories than many GF flours. It also tastes like good old fashioned white flour! For this pancake recipe it also baked like white flour, I would have to make a cake or muffins with it to really test it out.

If you’re looking to get this flour near you here is the Namaste Foods store locator. Rather than clicking on the map please type in your city and province/state, in the space provided at the top of the map, and a list will come up to the right of the map in the white area. I was surprised to find that Sobeys, where I bought it, wasn’t on the list!

Gluten-free-Blueberry-Puff-Pancakes

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 1 c. Namaste Foods’ Biscuits, Piecrusts & More flour, 390 calories
– 1 c. So Delicious brand unsweetened coconut milk, 45 calories
– 3 large GoldEgg Free Run eggs, 210 calories
– 6 tbsp. Simply Egg Whites, 45 calories
– 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 12 calories
– 3 packets Krisda brand stevia, 0 calories (optional). I ran out of liquid stevia!
– 1 c. fresh blueberries, 84 calories

Gluten-free-Blueberry-Puff-Pancake-Ramekins

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425ºF / 220ºC.

Place all ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix until the batter is smooth.

On a cookie sheet place 6 ramekins that are sprayed with a non-stick cooking spray, I used Pam butter flavored.

Distribute batter evenly in the ramekins and distribute an even amount of blueberries per ramekin on top of the batter.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or do a toothpick check.

Yield 6 servings, each puff pancake is 131 calories.

I eat two at a sitting and use 2 tbsp Walden Farms no calorie pancake syrup or 1/4 c Walden Farms no calorie blueberry syrup, both syrups are 0 calories for the amounts written.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

