Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What do you do when you have a delicious leftover barbecued steak, smothered in Montreal Steak Spice? Make a pie of course! This recipe is adapted from John Picardi’s Savory Ricotta Pie recipe, on his blog Mastering the Art of Pigging Out. Please do check out the original recipe.

There is one change I would make to the recipe and I am posting it with the change. I used two teaspoons of cumin and it should be brought down to one teaspoon. I love ground cumin and it was a bit overpowering to me. If you are not a cumin fan omit it completely. One of the things it did for the recipe is add some colour.

Let me apologize in advance for the photo of the single serving. I need to get a glass pie plate, I made this recipe in a 9 x 9″ non-stick baking pan and unfortunately because I won’t use a knife to cut the pie in the baking pan, the cuts are jagged. It dawns on me as I am typing this that I could have turned the pan over and and got the pie out before I did anything!

Steak-&-Cottahe-Cheese-Pie

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 1 c. Western Family frozen Shredded Hashbrowns, 60 calories
– 1 1/4 c. diced Walla Walla or another sweet onion, 80 calories
– 1 tsp. Canola Harvest, canola oil, 40 calories
– 1 1/4 c. Dairyland Fat Free Cottage Cheese, 225 calories
– 4 tbsp. Simply Egg Whites, 30 calories
– 37 g/~1 1/4 oz. crumbled Western Family Light Feta Cheese, 86 calories
– 5 oz/140 g chopped, lean cooked steak, 279 calories (I used an eye of the round cut with all visible fat removed).
– 2 tsp. onion powder, 16 calories
– 1 tsp. Clubhouse la Grille (no salt added) Steak Spice, if not used when cooking steak.
– 1 tsp. salt, 0 calories (omit if using a a steak spice with salt, feta is salty as well)
– 1 tsp cumin, 0 calories (optional – if not using consider using a teaspoon of paprika for colour, adjust calories as needed)

Steak-&-Cottage-Cheese-Pie-Mix

Directions:
Place oil in a medium frying pan and heat on medium temperature. Place frozen hashbrowns and onion in pan. Cook until hashbrowns are golden and the onion is slightly caramelized. Remove from heat and set aside.

Preheat oven to 425ºF/~220ºC. Spray a 9″ pie pan or a 9 x 9 baking pan with Pam or another cooking spray.

In a Magic Bullet or blender combine cottage cheese, egg whites, onion powder, and salt until smooth.

Place mixture in a medium mixing bowl and combine with feta, steak, steak spice and cumin until the spices and feta are distributed evenly.

Place in pie or baking pan and bake for 30-40 minutes until the edges are browned and the center is solid to the touch. In previous attempts I baked the pies for 25-30 minutes and they were still loose. This time I forgot to set an alarm and it was in for 40 minutes and was perfect.

Steak-&-Cottage-Cheese-Pie-fresh-from-the-oven

Yield: 4 servings, each serving is 207 calories.

The trick to every recipe is to make it your own. Use the spices and flavoring that you love. I’ve made this recipe with leftover chicken breasts, sausage, vegetables etc. You can almost make this cheese pie with anything and that includes fruit. I will be doing a sweet version very soon for you.

May your journey be delicious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

