Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The other night I went into my freezer only to find food defrosting and I had a really full freezer. The first thing I did was panic! The second thing I did was call my mother! I found that half of the items were still mostly frozen. I threw them in a bags and brought them straight to my parent’s freezer, thank goodness they live two minutes away.

I came back home as fast I could and the cooking began! I’m talking fill the oven, stove top and the barbecue, don’t get fussy just get things cooked. I can worry about how to transform them into flavorful foods later. This is how I ended up making, my low calorie adaption, of an Asian fried rice.

Pork-Semi-Fried-Rice-2

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 1/2 c. diced Walla Walla or another sweet onion, 32 calories
– 63 g/~2.2 oz. diced orange bell pepper, 10 calories
– 2 pressed or finely chopped cloves of garlic, 9 calories
– 1 1/4 tsp. Healthy Harvest canola oil, 50 calories
– 2 (1 +1) tbsp. Bragg Liquid Soy Seasoning, 0 calories
– 3 (1 + 2) tbsp. Golden Dragon Oyster Sauce, 60 calories
– 5 c. cold cooked brown rice, 828 calories
– 375 g/~13.4 oz. cooked and diced Marc Angelo Santa Fe Pork Loin Center, 488 calories
– 2 c. cooked frozen Western Family Mixed Vegetables, 135 calories
– 1/2 c. chopped green onion, 10 calories
– 1/4 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes, 1 calorie (optional)
– 1/4 tsp. sesame oil, 52 calories
– 2 large GoldenEggs Free Range Eggs, 140 calories

Directions:
In a medium frying pan sautée onions and bell pepper on a medium heat. When the onions and peppers are almost ready add garlic, mixed vegetables, 1 tbsp. liquid soy seasoning and 1 tbsp. oyster sauce and combine until the sauce has spread evenly over everything. Let mixture cook for another five minutes to warm and absorb the flavours, stir occasionally. Please reserve the remainder of the soy seasoning and oyster sauce for the rice.

While the vegetables sautée place rice, pork loin center and green onion in a 2.5 quart casserole dish.

When the vegetables in the frying pan are finished place them in the casserole dish and give everything a toss. Add in sesame oil, pepper flakes and the remaining soy seasoning and oyster sauce. Mix well until the newly added ingredients are incorporated completely.

Preheat oven to 350ºF / 175ºC.

In a small non-stick frying pan, sprayed with Pam or another cooking spray, scramble the eggs. When done place the eggs in the casserole dish and mix the egg in. Cover the dish and bake for 30-35 minutes until everything has warmed.

Pork-Semi-Fried-Rice

Yield: 10 cups, a serving is one cup. Each one-cup serving is 182 calories.

I used 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes, rather than a quarter teaspoon, and that really added quite a bit of heat. Adjust the heat to suit your liking.

In the end it turned out that the freezer was so full that the air vent was blocked and that caused the temperature change. I am so grateful the freezer wasn’t broken and didn’t need repair. It bought it brand new and I haven’t even had it a full three years yet! When the last one broke it was because the fridge area would freeze items and the freezer kept items cool, I called it the fridge having an identity crisis.

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

