Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I make many dishes out of the need to use up items in the fridge before they expire or go bad. I have a feeling this isn’t uncommon and that I’m in the majority when it comes to this. The other day it was about using up the cauliflower and turkey pepperoni.

I had made a Cheesy Cauliflower before and I wanted to do something different, squares sounded just about right to me!

Cheesy-Pepperoni-Cauliflower-Sqaures-2-

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 632 g/~22.6 oz. riced raw cauliflower, 158 calories
– 1/4 c. Skotidakis Tzatziki, 100 calories
– 1/3 c. Tostitios Salsa Con Queso, 120 calories
– 23g/~0.8 0z Nutters brand Nutritional Yeast Flakes, 36 calories
– 2 tbsp. Naturegg Simply Egg Whites, 15 calories
– 1/4 c. Bob’s Red Mill Garbanzo (Chickpea) Flour, 110 calories
– 1/2 tbsp. onion powder, 12 calories
– 1/2 tbsp. garlic powder, 14 calories
– 1/2 tsp. dried oregano, 2 calories
– 35 slices chopped Butterball Turkey Pepperoni, 140 calories

Cheesy-Pepperoni-Cauliflower-Sqaures-1

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350ºF / 175ºC.

In a large mixing bowl thoroughly mix cauliflower, tzatziki, salsa con queso, nutritional yeast flakes and egg whites.

Cheesy-Pepperoni-Cauliflower-Squares-3

Add in flour, onion powder, garlic powder and oregano. Once again mix thoroughly. Add in turkey pepperoni and mix until it’s distributed evenly in the mixture.

Cheesy-Pepperoni-Cauliflower-Squares

In a 12-muffin, square or round pan, spray Pam or another cooking spray. I’ve given up on muffin liners because I have to use Pam anyway. Distribute mixture evenly into the muffin pan. Bake for 30-40 minutes. I was looking for the tops to brown a little, which only happened around the edges. I removed the muffins after 40 minutes. Sit and let cool to set or they will fall apart too easily.

Yield: 12 squares, each square is 59 calories.

The next time I am going to try upping the garbanzo flour to 1/3 cup so they squares are a bit more solid. This would increase the calories to 62 per each square.

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

