Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This past weekend I took a long one, as in four days, and was in Kelowna, British Columbia for a certification course on grief and loss. I am more than proud to say that I am now certified in the Edu-Therapy grief and loss process. When you think about it every change in life is a loss of something. It’s a wonderful addition to my practice and a fantastic tool to further help my clients.

What does that mean for my recipes? I have no new ones at this time and hope to be cooking again later today, however, I have been eating in restaurants and it has had its challenges. For the first couple of days I ate the same thing at each meal. The meal below is a variation of the chicken and salad I ate so much of while away.

OSF-Roasted-Garlic-Chicken-Breast-&-Mediterranean-Salad2

I used to live in Vancouver, British Columbia and I loved going to The Old Spaghetti Factory there. The chain hasn’t come to Red Deer, though they do have restaurants in Calgary and Edmonton. In order to make things work for me and what I was in the mood to eat, I had to combine two different meals. I wanted a Mediterranean Salad with the chicken breast cooked like it was in their Roasted Grilled Garlic Chicken entrée, which sounded delicious. The entrée didn’t work for me because I didn’t want the linguine in the butter and parmesan sauce that it came with.

OSF Kelowna Minestrone Soup

Entrées at The Old Spaghetti Factory are all inclusive which means that they come with sour dough bread with whipped garlic butter, soup or salad, spumoni ice cream and tea or coffee. As you can see I had the minestrone soup because I had chosen a salad for dinner, or so I thought, you see salads don’t come with with the all inclusive fixings as the entrées do. I’ll tell you more about that in time.

OSF-Kelowna---Roasted-Garlic-Chicken-Breast-&-Mediterranean-Salad

The salad came with candied pecans and balsamic vinaigrette which I asked them to omit.

Walden-Farms-Individual-Salad-Dressing-Packet

I had brought my own individual packets of Walden Farms no calorie dressings on this trip. I brought the Creamy Bacon and Italian dressings so I had a choice. I absolutely love the Italian dressing.

As I said earlier, I didn’t realize, because I didn’t read properly, that the salads didn’t come as all inclusive meals. Which means I didn’t clue in, to the way she ordered my meal and how it would be billed, when she asked about all the fixings that I didn’t order. Other than the minestrone soup, I didn’t have the sour dough bread and garlic butter, nor the spumoni ice cream, nor did I order the tea or coffee, instead I had a diet coke. Frankly I could have done without the soup.

When the bill came I ended up paying for the chicken entrée $14.75, with a coke $2.89 and over two dollars for the salad as an extra. All in all the meal was over $20. Meanwhile the Mediterranean Salad was $10.25 and an extra $1.95 if you order it with grilled chicken or baby shrimp. I am sure that I had more chicken than would have come with the salad, however I was gouged price wise considering all that I didn’t eat! Most restaurants would charge for the salad and add an additional cost for extra chicken. The waitress didn’t explain things out and I was too tired to complain, I should have called for the manager immediately.

Though the meal was good, as the food is always, at The Old Spaghetti Factory I would watch things very carefully when you order there if you’re trying to cut down on calories. I have to take responsibility for not realizing that salads weren’t all inclusive, the menu was right in front of me as it’s the paper place mat.

Here are some other restaurant posts you may like:
Cities Gastro Pub, Red Deer, Alberta
Moxies, Red Deer, Alberta

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

