Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The other evening I needed to make something that was fairly quick and that was a little higher in calories because I had eaten too little during the day. I consider this an opportunity to eat pasta, which is usually a higher calorie meal.

As I was scavenging through the fridge I found a whole package of Lilydale Day Starters that needed to be used pronto. I’ve been so busy lately that there’s quite a bit of food that’s come close to expiring, it may be becoming a pattern. With that said, I’ve also done a lot of baking lately that hasn’t turned out. Here’s to slowing down, even if for a little while.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Baked-Macaroni

Ingredients:
– 1 package Lilydale Day Starters (turkey style bacon) or 15 slices chopped, 375 calories
– 224 g/8 oz. dry Rizopia Gluten-free Brown Rice Pasta, 800 calories
– 1/2 c. Classico Four Cheese Tomato Pasta Sauce, 90 calories
– 1 c. Western Family canned Diced Tomatoes (I squeezed out some of the juice so it was dryer), 40 calories
– 41 g/~1.5 oz. crumbles Western Family Light Feta Cheese, 96 calories
– 73 g/~2.6 oz. grated Skim Milk Mozerella (7% MF), 146 calories
– 2 pressed or finely diced cloves of garlic, 9 calories
– 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, 1 calorie
– 1/4 c. Western Family Fat Free Balkan Style Plain Yoghurt, 27 calories
– 2 tbsp. Kraft Herb and Garlic Cream Cheese 95% Fat Free, 40 calories
– 1 tbsp. Unico Sundried Tomatoes in Oil rinsed, 30 calories
– 1/4 c. Kraft 100% Shaved Parmesan, 110 calories

Directions:
In a large frying pan sprayed with PAM or another cooking spray, crisp Day Starters on a medium heat. Stir frequently. Put aside when ready.

In a medium pot, of salted boiling water, cook macaroni until al dente, keeping in mind that the macaroni will further soften as it’s baked. When the pasta is ready drain and rinse the macaroni.

In a large mixing bowl combine pasta, pasta sauce, diced tomatoes, feta, mozzarella, garlic and oregano. Pour mixture into a 2.5 quart casserole dish and press down on it with the back of a spoon or with parchment paper.

Baked-Macaroni-1

In a Magic Bullet or blender combine yoghurt, cream cheese and sundried tomatoes until it’s a creamy sauce.

In a medium bowl mix together creamy sauce and crisped Daystarters. Once combined place on top of the pressed macaroni. Evenly disperse the shaved parmesan over the top of the casserole dish.

Bake for 35 minutes and then let it sit and set for a 10-15 minutes.

Yield: four servings each 441 calories or six servings each 294 calories.

Baked-Macaroni-2

Being that I needed the calories that evening I divided my baked macaroni into four servings. Like my Daystarters a little burnt. I know it’s not a popular notion and still I love the flavour.

I can’t say that it’s gluten-free because I am not sure if the Daystarters and pasta sauce is gluten-free. I do know that it would be more than possible to adapt this meal to GF.

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

