Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been really curious about roasting a whole chicken in the slow cooker, after all, the ease is a big draw. Though I rarely cook a whole chicken, or keep one in the freezer for that matter, Save-On foods had a special this past spring and I bought two whole frozen grain fed chickens for $3.49 each. The price alone made it an impossible deal to pass up.

I did some recipe searches for a whole chicken cooked in a crock pot just to see if there was something for me to consider that I didn’t know. I did find an interesting tip on Pinterest about making aluminum foil bails and placing them at the bottom of the slow cooker so that the chicken sits on the balls and the fat has a place to drain. It’s a great idea, however, I didn’t do this.

I live with Zak, a 17 year old, that needs to gain weight and I figured that as long as I take the skin off the chicken before I eat it and I leave all the roasted vegetables from this dish for Zak, because they were cooked in chicken fat drippings, that all would be well in the shedding weight department. For this reason I don’t have any calorie totals for you today. The calories depend on what part of the chicken you eat and if you remove the skin.

Roasted-Slow-Cooker-Chicken-2

Ingredients:
– 1 tbsp. paprika
– 1 tsp. poultry seasoning
– 1 tsp. ground sage
– 2 tbsp. Montreal Steak Spice
– 1 tsp. Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy
– 1 1/4 tsp. sea salt
– 1 whole chicken, I used a 50% defrosted chicken.
– 1/2 c. water
– 3 cloves garlic, smashed just enough to broken open a bit.
– 1 stalk of celery cut into 4 pieces.
– 3 – 4 carrots, cut in half and then cut diagonally.
– 2 medium potatoes chopped into larger chunks.
– 1 medium Walla Walla onion chopped into larger chunks.

Directions:

Spices-for-Roasted-Slow-Cooker-Chicken

Combine all the spices into a rub. Pour water into the crock pot. Pat a little water onto the chicken and rub in the spice mix all over, including under wings and legs. Place the chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted-Slow-Cooker-Chicken-Preparation

Place the vegetables into the crock pot tucking them around the chicken and pushing them down as far as possible. I chose to put in the garlic, then celery and carrots.

Roasted-Slow-Cooker-Chicken-Preparation-2

I then layered in the potatoes and the onions on top. I placed the slow cooker on high for an hour and a half and then went to low for 5 or 6 hours.

Roasted-Slow-Cooker-Chicken

The chicken was extremely tender. I found the breasts to be a little dryer than I like them, which I found surprising because when I put the chicken in the crock pot I intentionally put it in 50% frozen. Any ideas on this? I would love to hear some.

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

