Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The next couple of recipes that I post were done out of the necessity to use up some carrots and zucchini. This recipe is adapted from one I found on Just A Pinch called Dee Dee’s South of the Border Corn Pudding.

Even though the picture looks like it’s a square, it’s truly more of a pudding. There is a lot of egg and it has a consistency similar to egg foo young. If you don’t like heat please adjust the spices to your taste.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Spicy-Veggie-Pudding

Ingredients:
– 2 tbsp. Cloud 9 gluten-free all purpose flour, 68 calories
– 1 tsp. El Peto gluten and aluminum free baking powder, 5 calories
– 1 c. grated carrots, 45 calories
– 1 c. grated zucchini, 21 calories
– 1/4 c. chopped green onions, 5 calories
– 1/4 c. finely chopped red bell pepper, 7 calories
– 2 tbsp. finely chopped Unico Pickled Green Jalapeno Peppers, 5 calories
– 1 tsp. cumin, 0 calories
– 1/2 tsp. sea salt, 0 calories
– 2 tbsp. Naturegg Simply Egg Whites, 15 calories
– 1 large Goldegg Free Run egg, 70 calories
– 1/2 c. So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk, 22 calories
– 1/4 c. Tostitos Salsa Con Queso, 90 calories
– 1 1/2 tsp. Frank’s Original Red Hot Sauce, 2 calories

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350ºF / 175ºC.

In a pudding or dessert cup combine flour and baking powder.

In a large mixing bowl mix together carrots, zucchini, green onion, red pepper and pickled jalapeno, cumin and sea salt.

In a Magic Bullet or blender combine coconut milk, salsa con queso and Frank’s Red Hot Sauce until you have a smooth liquid.

Pour the liquid over the vegetables and stir together. Add flour and baking powder mixture to the bowl and thoroughly combine until the dry mixture has been incorporated throughout.

Coat a 9 x 9 baking pan, my preference is a non-stick pan, with PAM or another cooking spray. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes. I preferred 30 minutes.

Yield: 6 portions, each portion is 59 calories.

Spicy-Veggie-Pudding-2

The texture was soft and spicy kick was the perfect accent to Roasted Slow Cooker Chicken. I am really please with the flavor. As I write this I’m thinking that I really need to taste what I’m posting about as I write so I can give you a better description, or keep a handy pad and pen at the dinner table.

I may just be watching too many competitive “reality” cooking shows!

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

