Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As promised here is another recipe that is based on carrots and zucchini. Thankfully after this recipe I have used all the produce that I needed to. Luckily enough the recipe I adapted this from was one I had found on Pinterest and wanted to try anyway.

This recipe was adapted from Carrot & Zucchini Bars with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting by Carole Jones, on her blog, My Kitchen Escapades. It is now gluten-free, sugar-free and low fat. I love the fact that I can have a big piece for very low calories. I found the texture far more like that of a cake. I didn’t make a cream cheese frosting, though I originally was going to; the calories with the frosting and frosting recipe are written after the recipe for the cake.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Carrot-Zucchini-Cake

Ingredients:
– 4 tbsp. Naturegg Simply Egg Whites, 30 calories
– 1 tsp. Now Organic Better Stevia, 0 calories
– 1/2 c. Splenda Granulated, 48 calories
– 1/2 c. Mott’s Unsweetened Apple Sauce, 60 calories
– 1 tsp. Pure Bourbon Vanille Extract, 12 calories
– 1 1/2 c. grated carrots, 68 calories
– 1 c. grated zucchini, 21 calorie
– 1/2 c. walnut pieces, 383 calories
– 1/2 c. Namaste gluten-free Biscuits, Piecrust and More Flour, 195 calories
– 1/2 c. Cloud 9 gluten-free All Purpose Flour, 270 calories
– 32 g/~1.1 oz (1/4 c.) Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free Pancake Mix, 107 calories
– 40 g/~1.4 oz. (1/4 c.) Nutter’s Tapioca Flour/Starch, 144 calories
– 1 tsp. El Peto gluten-free and aluminum free Baking Powder, 5 calories
– 1/2 tsp. El Peto gluten-free Baking Soda, 0 calories
– 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, 3 calories
– 1/4 tsp. sea salt, 0 calories
– 4 tbsp. So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk, 11 calories (only use if the batter is too dry).

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350ºF / 175ºC.

In a medium mixing bowl whisk together egg whites, stevia, Splenda, applesauce and vanilla extract. Add in carrots, zucchini and walnuts and stir well.

In a large mixing bowl thoroughly combine the three flours, pancake mix, baking powder, baking soda, sea salt and ginger.

Add contents from the medium bowl to the large mixing bowl and stir until the batter has formed. If too dry add 2 tablespoons of coconut milk, at a time, until a proper texture has been reached. I needed to add 4 tablespoons.

Pour batter into a 9 x 13 baking pan that has been sprayed with PAM or another cooking spray. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes.

I used a glass baking pan, the rule is that if you use glass lower the oven temperature by 25ºF. I baked the cake on 325ºF/~163ºC.

Yield: 12 slices of cake, each slice is 113 calories

Carrot-Zucchini-Cake-2

Rather than frosting I used 3 tablespoons of Coolwhip Light for 35 calories, which makes the serving in the picture above 148 calories

If you want to make a Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting combine:
– a full tub of Kraft 95% Fat Free Cream Cheese, 340 calories
– 3 tbsp lemon zest, 6 calories
– 1/4 tsp lemon extract, 0 calories
– 1/2 c. Splenda Granulated, 48 calories
– 1/4 tsp Stevia, 0 calories

The yield is still 12 with frosting and each slice is 146 calories

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

