Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week I made my first ever meatloaf! I think I was in my thirties before I ever tasted meatloaf, it wasn’t something that my mother made when I was growing up. She started making meatloaf after I moved away from home. Somehow in my mind I had decided that it couldn’t be very good so why bother. Since then I have tasted some very delicious meatloaves.

A product from Western Family that I love, and I’m hoping that isn’t in past tense because I haven’t been able to find it lately, is taco seasoned lean ground pork. It’s spicy and juicy when cooked, it has just the right amount of fat. I pulled my last pack of it from the freezer and thought it might make a great mexican style meatloaf. In the end I wasn’t disappointed.

The shocking part was that I made it on a day I was really tired and I forgot it was in the oven. I left it there for two and a half hours. It was still moist and still delicious! This tells me that, even though I was only planning on cooking it for an hour or so, the proper cook time is probably more like 90 minutes.

Meatloaf-with-Turkey-&-Pork

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 450 g./~16 oz. Western Family Taco Seasoned Pork, 1260 calories
– 469 g./16.75 oz raw Lilydale Extra Lean Ground Turkey Breast, 523 calories
– 1/2 c. Fresh Gourmet Original Crispy Onions, 160 calories
– 1/4 c. chopped green onion, 5 calories
– 2 tbsp. Naturegg Simply Egg Whites, 160 calories
– 1/3 c. Old El Paso Mild Taco Sauce, 27 calories
– 1 tbsp. Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce, 13 calories
– 1 tsp. Gourmet Garden Cilantro/Coriander Paste, 7 calories
– 1/2 c. Western Family Mild Exquisita Salsa, 40 calories

Meatloaf-with-Turkey-&-Pork-2

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350ºF / 175ºC.

In a large mixing combine pork, turkey, green onion and Crispy Onions. I got my hands in there and had some fun.

Add egg whites, taco sauce, Worcestershire Sauce and Cilantro Paste and thoroughly combined. I again did this by hand…I love playing with my food.

Place mixture is an 8.5″ x 4.5″ x 2.5″ loaf pan that’s been sprayed with PAM or another cooking spray. Pack the mixture down flat. It just about comes to the top of the loaf pan. Spoon salsa on the top and spread evenly.

Bake for 90 minutes. Test with a meat thermometer. I would use the pork setting, which on my meat thermometer, is 170ºF / 77ºC.

Yield: 8 servings, each serving is 256 calories (the calorie content is for the meatloaf only, it does not include the quinoa and coleslaw in the above picture)

I was really really pleased with this recipe. I would make this time and time again.

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

