Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It seems that my tastiest recipes come less from a desire to create something delicious and more from I’m just going to throw all of this together. I really believe it’s about getting out of my head and just letting the passion take over. This seems to happen when I let my imagination create the flavour. This is how Vegetable Surprise was born.

The other night I realized I didn’t have a side dish to go with supper and I had to use up an eggplant right away. Before I knew it I was in the pantry grabbing this and that, including a tin of crushed tomatoes. It’s rare that I use crushed or diced tomatoes, as well as tomato paste. In the end the delicate flavouring of this side dish absolutely surprised me and thus the name. More to my surprise, the day after Save-On Foods had a case sale and I bought a case of diced tomatoes.

Vegetable-Surprise

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 131 g./~4.7 oz. sliced raw carrots, 54 calories
– 376 g./~13.4 oz. diced raw potato, 276 calories
– 145 g./~5.2 oz. diced raw onion, 53 calories
– 361 ml./~12.2 fl. oz. Campbell’s No Salt Added Chicken Broth, 24 calories
– 1 container of Knorr Homestyle Chicken Stock, 30 calories
– 125 ml./~1/2 c. Hunt’s Crushed Tomatoes, 45 calories
– 4 c. (4.2 c U.S.)( 3.52 c. imperial) diced raw eggplant, 79 calories
– 1/2 tsp. Gourmet Garden Cilantro/Coriander Paste, 3 calories
– 1/2 tsp. Gourmet Garden Italian Herb Paste, 7 calories
– 1 tsp. onion powder, 8 calories
– 1 tsp. granulated garlic, 9 calories
– 1 tsp. sea salt, 0 calories

Vegetable-Surprise-1

Directions:
In a medium pot place carrots, potato, onions, chicken broth and stock. On a medium heat let simmer until the potatoes are half cooked, about 10 minutes.

Stir in the rest of the ingredients and simmer until the eggplant has cooked down. Stir frequently.

Yield: 8 half cup servings, each serving is 74 calories.

Vegetable-Surprise-2

I prefer the eggplant cooked down because it makes a rich sauce for the other vegetables. If you prefer that the eggplant is more solid then simmer just until the point that the eggplant is lovely and tender.

This recipe has the body of a rich stew. The flavour of the vegetables are highlighted with the tanginess from the tomatoes and delicate undertones of the spicing. It could easily be a lunch with a full bodied bread or roll. I hope you enjoy it as much I have and still am.

Sadly this dish is not gluten-free due to the Knorr Homestyle Chicken Stock. It can easily be if it was replaced, unfortunately I do not know a gluten-free replacement, if you do please let me know.

It’s my personal goal to make weight loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

