Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ginger and lemon and apricots, oh my! This is a recipe I have been trying to adapt since I first saw it posted. Adapting to lower calories is not nearly as challenging as adapting a recipe to be gluten-free.

I have spent so much time shopping for the perfect all purpose gluten-free flours, only to learn that great gluten-free baking needs to be done with a combination of individual flours. This is the best adaption yet that I have made for this recipe. The flavour has been there the whole time and the texture hasn’t been. I’m not going to say that it’s perfect as is, and I have to accept that I am a novice gluten-free baker and tasty will have to do as I learn and grow.

This recipe was adapted from Liz’ Apricot-Ginger Cake with Lemon on her blog, My Favourite Pastime. Please visit Liz, I so admire her recipes and her love for cooking and baking. She is a lovely lovely person who responds to the comments she receives on her blog. Liz is exactly the kind of cook that I aspire to be. It was from reading Liz’ blog that I learned to use a knife to get the excess flour from a measuring cup, rather than jiggling the cup and letting the flour settle. She is a wealth of information and her recipes are very tempting.

Ginger-Lemon-Muffins-with-Apricots-3

I made this recipe into muffins, rather than a cake, because it’s far easier to get muffins uniform, for calorie counting, than it is for me to get cake slices. As you may have noticed I made ginger the prominent flavour because I love it so much. My original attempt was with strawberries instead of apricots, yes I had strawberries that were about to go bad. The flavour with strawberries was fantastic, however, I was at Costco last week and grabbed a bag of dried apricots.

It should be noted that in all my attempts at making these muffins that I used one tablespoon of Gourmet Garden Ginger Paste and that the ginger taste was quite predominant. In this latest batch the ginger was not as predominant and I am going to add an extra tablespoon in my next batch. I think it may be due to the coconut or almond flours, I’m not sure.

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ginger-Lemon-Muffins-with-Apricots-2

Ingredients:
– 1/2 c. (~.53 c. U.S.)(~.44 c. Imperial) Namaste Perfect Flour Blend, 225 calories
– 65 g./~2.3 oz. Nutter’s Sorghum Flour, 221 calories
– 1/2 c. (~.53 c. U.S.)(~.44 c. Imperial) ground GF Old Fashioned Oats or Oat Flour, 165 calories
– 1/4 c. (~.26 c. U.S.)(~.22 c. Imperial) ground almonds or almond flour, 137 calories
– 1/4 c. (~.26 c. U.S.)(~.22 c. Imperial) Bob’s Red Mill GF Coconut Flour, 120 calories
– 7.5 ml./~1 1/2 tsp. El Peto Gluten and Aluminum Free Baking Powder, 8 calories
– 5 ml./~ 1 tsp. El Peto GF Baking Soda, 0 calories
– 4 g./~1 tsp. El Peto Xanthan Gum, 10 calories
– 187.5 ml./~.80 c. Mott’s Unsweetened Applesauce, 90 calories
– 1/4 c. (~.26 c. U.S.)(~.22 c. Imperial) Naturegg Simply Egg Whites, 30 calories
– 1/2 c. (~.53 c. U.S.)(~.44 c. Imperial) Western Family Balkan Style Fat Free Plain Yoghurt, 53 calories
– 1/4 c. (~.26 c. U.S.)(~.22 c. Imperial) So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk, 11 calories
– 15 ml./~1 tbsp. Gourmet Garden Ginger Paste, 40 calories – next time I’ll use 30 ml/~2 tbsp.
– 12.5 ml./~1/2 & 1/4 tsp. lemon extract, 0 calories
– 15 ml./~1 tbsp. Sweet Leaf Vanilla Cream Flavoured Liquid Stevia, 0 calories
– 187.5 ml./~.80 c. Granulated Splenda, 72 calories
– 15 ml./~1 tbsp. Lemon Zest, 3 calories
– 58 g./~2.1 oz. chopped Mariani Premium Dried Apricots, 145 calories

Ginger-Lemon-Muffins-with-Apricots-1

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350ºF / 175ºC. Spray a 12 muffin tin with PAM or another cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl combine the five flours (including the ground oats and almonds), baking powder, baking soda and the xanthan gum.

In a small bowl whisk the rest of the ingredients together with the exception of the apricots.

Stir the liquid into the flour to form the batter. If the batter is too dry add 15 ml./~1 tbsp. water at a time until the batter is the desired consistency. Stir in apricots until evenly dispersed.

Bake for 25-30 minutes. Checking via toothpick method, until the toothpick pulls out clean.

Yield: 12 muffins, each muffin is 111 calories.

Ginger-Lemon-Muffins-with-Apricots

It’s my personal goal to make weight-loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

