Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week I had too many leftovers for one person to handle. On Wednesday evening I still needed to eat leftovers for supper, however I had taken out steaks to defrost a couple of days earlier and needed to cook those as well. In the end I grilled the steaks which became the next night’s leftovers. Oh what a tangled web I weave.

I wanted to do something really quick with the leftover steak. Digging through the pantry I found a package of Knorr Five Pepper Sauce. I really do enjoy sauces and it’s my sincere belief that packaged sauces are less calories than my fresh sauces, most of the time. If I’m to be honest it’s because of all the ingredients that I cannot pronounce in convenience foods. Though this is not a great thing, it works for my weight loss and, in the name of moderation, is fine to do now and then.

When I originally went into the pantry I had a notion of a cheeseteak in my mind, mostly fried peppers and onions. Since the bread and the cheese weren’t foremost on my mind the sauce played well in my imagination. I shared it with my parents who found it quite flavorful as well.

Leftover-Steak-in-5-Pepper-Sauce

PLEASE REMEMBER that the calories mentioned apply to the brands and quantities of the ingredients I use. Please alter the calories based on the brands and quantities of ingredients you use. Same brand items made in the United States, may have a different calorie content than same brand items made here in Canada, please always read the calories on the label. I calculate the calories in the recipe section of the “Lose It” app on my iPhone. Lose It is available for Android, iOS, Nook, Kindle and on the Web.

Ingredients:
– 203g./7 1/4 oz. sliced leftover grilled steak, 460 calories
– 134 g./~4 3/4 oz. diced Walla Walla or another sweet onion, 49 calories
– 184 g./~6 1/2 oz. sliced orange bell pepper, 30 calories
– 180 ml./~6 fl. oz. Campbell’s No Salt Added Chicken Broth, 12 calories
– 5 ml./~1 tsp. Healthy Harvest Canola Oil, 40 calories
– 1/4 c. (metric)/(.26 c. U.S.)(.21 c. Imperial) dry Knorr Five Pepper Sauce Mix, 30 calories.
– 5 ml./~1 tsp. sea salt, 0 calories

Leftover-Steak-in-5-Pepper-Sauce-1

Directions:
Heat oil in a large fry pan on a medium temperature. Once heated add onions and bell pepper. Sautée for 10 minutes or until they begin to soften.

Add chicken stock. With a wooden spoon stir in dry pepper sauce mix until the powder is thoroughly blended into a sauce. Stir in salt and cover.

When the sauce is simmering lower the heat to low and stir in the steak. Cover and let simmer until the steak is heated, approximately 7 – 10 minutes.

Serve over rice, quinoa, potatoes or a salad.

Yield: 2 servings, each serving is 311 calories, (NOT including rice, quinoa, potatoes or salad).

Leftover-Steak-in-5-Pepper-Sauce-2

I should let you know that last Thursday night I brought all the leftovers to my parents and we had dinner together. That was because I was making a family dinner on Friday evening for the Jewish holidays. I can say that this past weekend was again all about leftovers!

It’s my personal goal to make weight-loss and weight maintenance deliciously easy for you and me. May your journey be scrumptious and the company you keep inspiring and supportive.

